Siemens Research Cooperation on Decentralized Platforms

Exploring DLT-based business models

Supporting the democratization of platforms

The Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) has enabled tremendous innovation potential and created the platform economy due to digital information transfer. Through transparency and a reduction in transaction costs, new business models have emerged which address customers with superior user experiences. However, network effects and information asymmetry have created dominant platforms and quasi-monopolistic market structures.
 
Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLTs), such as Blockchain, provide a high potential for new business models through data sovereignty and disintermediation, and hence democratize the platform economy. To enable such a process of democratization, effective governance models and an understanding of the business model mechanisms are required.
 
Together with Siemens, a research cooperation was initiated in July 2018 to explore DLT-based business models and DLT governance mechanisms. The goal is to derive management implications to contribute to the democratization of the platform economy.

For more information please contact Kilian Schmück

KSchmueck
Kilian Schmück
Research Associate & PhD Candidate

Siemens Forschungskooperation: Dezentralisierte Plattformen

Untersuchung DLT-basierter Geschäftsmodelle

Unterstützung der Demokratisierung von Plattformen

Das Internetprotokoll (TCP / IP) hat ein enormes Innovationspotenzial ermöglicht und aufgrund des digitalen Informationstransfers die Plattformökonomie geschaffen. Durch Transparenz und die Reduktion der Transaktionskosten sind neue Geschäftsmodelle entstanden, die Kunden mit überlegener Benutzererfahrung ansprechen. Durch Netzwerkeffekte und Informationsasymmetrie sind jedoch dominante Plattformen und quasi monopolistische Marktstrukturen entstanden.
 
Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLTs) wie Blockchain bieten durch Datenhoheit und Disintermediation ein hohes Potenzial für neue Geschäftsmodelle und demokratisieren damit die Plattformwirtschaft. Um einen solchen Demokratisierungsprozess zu ermöglichen, sind wirksame Governance-Modelle und ein Verständnis der Geschäftsmodellmechanismen erforderlich.
 
Zusammen mit Siemens wurde im Juli 2018 eine Forschungskooperation initiiert, um DLT-basierte Geschäftsmodelle und DLT-Governance-Mechanismen zu untersuchen. Ziel ist es, Implikationen für das Management abzuleiten, um zur Demokratisierung der Plattformwirtschaft beizutragen.

Bei Rückfragen kontaktieren Sie bitte Herrn Kilian Schmück

KSchmueck
Kilian Schmück
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Doktorand